Making Democracy Work

Make Democracy Work!

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy.

Women's History Month Luncheon

Celebrating Women Leaders in Emergency Response

Saturday, March 18, 11:00 am
Gleneagles Country Club
5401 W Park Blvd, Plano, TX 75093

Six Collin County women will share their stories about why they were motivated to serve in emergency response and what insights they have gained. Click HERE for more information or to make a reservation.
Reservations are required by Thursday, March 9.

Frisco Special Election

A runoff election is expected to take place on March 25 for the special election to fill the unexpired term for Frisco City Council Place 1. The candidates will be John Keating and Brandon Burden. Here is a printable Voters Guide. Compare candidates' responses at Here are the results of the February 18 election.

Public Forum on Water Quality in Collin County

The LWV-CC hosted a well-attended forum on February 2 about the quality of water in Collin County. The panelists and moderator gave informative presentations, followed by a spirited Q&A. Here are the presenters, as shown in the photo from left to right: David Brown, Director of Public Works, City of McKinney; Billy George, Assistant Deputy Director-Water, North Texas Municipal Water District; Gerald Cosgrove, Director of Public Works, City of Plano; and Katie McCain, Director of Business Development for Wachs Water Services.

League Lunches - Everyone is welcome!

Wednesday, March 8, 11:30
Eddy's Restaurant
2108 W. 15th Street, Plano, TX 75075

Wednesday, March 15, 11:30
Snug On The Square
109 Kentucky St., McKinney, TX 75069

You are invited to have lunch with the League of Women Voters of Collin County on the 2nd and 3rd Wednesdays of each month. Enjoy lively conversation and delicious food (buy-your-own). Please contact to let us know if you plan to attend. We look forward to meeting you!

"We Hold These Truths"

At the LWV Texas Convention on March 11 in Houston, LWV-CC members portrayed prominent women leaders of the fight to gain the right to vote for women.

In the photo above, the cast members, from left to right, are: Patty Jantho, Shirley Wilson-Sigler, Margaret Bogle, Janelle Freeman, Holly Nichols, Penny Phillips, and Janet Imhoff.

This readers theater production is also available as part of the LWV-CC Speakers Bureau. Click HERE for more information.