Making Democracy Work

Women's History Month Luncheon


Women Leaders in Emergency Response

Women's History Luncheon 2017

Honorees at the March 18 luncheon, shown left to right, are: Christa Weisinger, Allen Police and Student Resource Officer; Ursula Watson, McKinney Detective; Susan Carr, Plano Director of Public Safety Communications; Marty Nevil, Prosper Firefighter Medic; Leslie Girdner, Frisco Community Education Coordinator, and Katy Willoughby, Wylie Fire Department Captain.

Several of the honorees were the first female hired in their respective departments. They said that female officers are often able to play a more nurturing and comforting role than male officers when a victim is female. In addition to being first responders, they help educate the community, and especially children, in how to prevent or cope with emergency situations.

Todd Eubanks, Director of the Law Enforcement Academy of Collin College, stressed the need for more women in public safety careers, noting that in 1970 only 2% of public safety personnel were women and that has increased only to 12% today. Collin College offers training in police, fire, paramedic and other areas of public safety.

Click HERE for a slide show.
Click HERE for bios of the honorees.


Women in Politics:

What inspires women to run for public office?

Women's History Luncheon 2016

On March 19, six women who have run for office in Collin County shared their stories.
Left to right: Gilda Garza, Missy Bender, Anne McCausland, Brooke Lopez, Cheryl Williams, Tonya Holt.

Click HERE for a slide show.
Click HERE for a Plano Profile article about the event.


Celebration of Collin County Women in Public Administration

More than 100 LWV members, mayors, council members, commissioners, city managers, and other city and county staff celebrated the leadership of eight Collin County women in public administration at a luncheon on March 14. The honorees, as shown in the photo, are:

Left to right, Phyllis M. Jarrell, Director of Special Projects, City of Plano; Major Pam Palmisano, Sheriff's Office, Collin County; Renae' Ollie, Director of Development Services, City of Wylie; Nell Lange, Assistant City Manager, City of Frisco; Linda Truitt, Finance Director, City of Murphy; Shelli Siemer, Assistant City Manager, City of Allen; Robyn Battle, Town Secretary, Town of Prosper; and Sandy Hart, City Secretary, City of McKinney.

Here is the 'Summary Timeline of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States with a Focus on Texas' that was displayed at the luncheon.

Here is a slide show of photos from the event.