Making Democracy Work

Make Democracy Work!

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy.

LWV-CC Holiday Party

Sunday, December 13, 4:00 p.m.
At a member's home in McKinney

LWV-CC members and guests are invited to socialize, enjoy snacks and beverages, and purchase auction items to benefit our League's operating fund or Education Fund. For more information and location, contact

State Program Planning Meeting

Wednesday, December 9, 11:00 a.m.
Eddy's Restaurant
2108 W 15th Street, Plano, TX 75075

Before our monthly League Lunch, LWV-CC members are invited to discuss recommendations for new state studies, reviews of existing positions, amendments to existing positions and/or state concurrence with a local League position. These recommendations will be submitted to the LWV Texas board for consideration at the state convention March 10-13, 2016. For more information, contact

League Lunch - Everyone is welcome!

Wednesday, December 9, 11:30 a.m.
Eddy's Restaurant
2108 W 15th Street, Plano, TX 75075

You are invited to have lunch with the League of Women Voters of Collin County on the 2nd Wednesday of each month. Enjoy lively conversation, delicious food (buy-your-own), and the entertainment of a wonderful a capella vocal group. Please contact to let us know if you plan to attend. We look forward to meeting you!

Money in Politics - Consensus Meeting

Wednesday, January 20, 6:00 p.m.
Parr Library Conference Room
6200 Windhaven Pkwy., Plano, TX 75093

LWV-CC members are invited to review study materials and discuss our League's response to consensus questions for the LWVUS study of Money in Politics. Click here for study materials. (This event is not sponsored by the Plano Public Library System or the City of Plano.)

"We Hold These Truths" - September 19, 2015

Seven LWV-CC members portrayed prominent women leaders of the fight to gain the right to vote for women in a performance at the Allen Civic Auditorium. The performance was attended by approximately 60 persons and was followed by a fall kickoff meeting outlining LWV-CC's voters service, action programs and studies, and Women's History Month luncheon for 2015-2016.

The cast members, from left to right, are: Patty Jantho, Shirley Wilson-Sigler, Margaret Bogle, Janelle Freeman, Holly Nichols, Penny Phillips, and Janet Imhoff.

LWV-CC Annual Meeting 2015

Approximately 35 LWV-Collin County members and friends attended the brunch and annual meeting May 16, 2015, at the Medical Center of Plano. Plano Mayor Harry LaRosiliere told us about new developments and programs in Plano, and LWV-CC members elected officers and board members, approved a budget, amended bylaws, and adopted local program activities for 2015-2016.

Here is more information about the annual meeting.

Celebration of Collin County Women in Public Administration

More than 100 LWV members, mayors, council members, commissioners, city managers, and other city and county staff celebrated the leadership of eight Collin County women in public administration at a luncheon on March 14. The honorees, as shown in the photo, are:

Left to right, Phyllis M. Jarrell, Director of Special Projects, City of Plano; Major Pam Palmisano, Sheriff's Office, Collin County; Renae' Ollie, Director of Development Services, City of Wylie; Nell Lange, Assistant City Manager, City of Frisco; Linda Truitt, Finance Director, City of Murphy; Shelli Siemer, Assistant City Manager, City of Allen; Robyn Battle, Town Secretary, Town of Prosper; and Sandy Hart, City Secretary, City of McKinney.

Here is the 'Summary Timeline of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States with a Focus on Texas' that was displayed at the luncheon.

Here is a slide show of photos from the event.